Sun, Feb 19, 2023

TSU-LS returns; LSians dominate DSPC

“Ang ating nagbabalik, TSU-Laboratory School!” Last 2015, Tarlac State University- Laboratory School (TSU-LS) marked their last year of participation at the annual Tarlac City Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) due to its closure. Eight years later, a year after it was re-established, TSU-LS is back on track as several LSians rose victorious at the recently concluded DSPC, continuing the legacy of the Laboratory School.
by Kerol Arkie Tarriela, The Work, Jr.   – TSU Laboratory School  |  The Work, Jr.  |  TatakTSUian


The said competition was held at Tarlac Montessori School (TMS) for group categories and at Tarlac West Central Elementary School (TWCES) for individual categories on February 17-18 with the theme “DIIN: Intensifying the Role of Campus Journalism in Literacy Recover and Community Empowerment.”

Six pen-pushers of TSU-LS will advance in this year’s regional, dominating the categories of Copyreading and Headline Writing (Filipino), Editorial Writing (English), Colum Wiritng (Filipino), Photojournalism (English and FIlipino), and Editorial Cartooning (Filipino).

In addition, all group categories gained recognition with Collaborative Desktop Publishing (English and Filipino) placing second, Online Desktop Publishing (English and Filipino) placing third, and Radio Scriptwriting and Broadcastig (English and Filipino) placing fourth respectively.

Mr. Jhayvi Dizon, the School Paper Adviser of the student journalists, also expressed his gratitude and satisfaction with the awards won by the Laboratory School despite the challenges faced throughout the preparation for the mentioned competition.

“It’s a humbling experience to have the name of the TSU- Laboratory School to be heard again in DSPC. We weren’t expecting in terms of the result. We all just wanted to bring back and pick up from the legacy where the TSU-LS left off. I am proud of all the DSPC participants that they have given all their best shots this year,” Dizon added.

He also expressed his thanks to the people behind the success, mentioning especially the TSU administration for their extensive support.

Exhilarating cheers, joyous jumps, and grateful tears filled the covered court of TWCES every time the announcer shouts “Ang ating nagbabalik, TSU-Laboratory School!”

Here is the full list of results:

Group Categories

Collaborative Desktop Publishing- English (2nd Placer)
- Kerol Arkie Tarriela
- Kolleen Julief Leonardo
- Carl Joseph Ramos
- Hannah Angelica Rosaros
- Juvin Jake Pentecostes

Collaborative Desktop Publishing- Filipino (2nd Placer)
- John Rey Sabal
- Alyssa Ann Catli
- Nicole Kim Catacutan
- Johnlyn Faye Mascarinias
- Anne Claire Dela Cruz

Online Desktop Publishing- English (3rd Placer)
- Lyla Villanueva
- Margarette Cati Paras
- Lhiane Angela Domingo
- Jona Marie Losanez
- John Stephen Martinez

Online Desktop Publishing- Filipino (3rd Placer)
- Maria Althea Del Rosario
- Justine Angel Bondoc
- Janelle Garcia
- James Karl Lagman
- Ferdinand Rabanal Jr.

Radio Scriptwriting and Broadcasting- English (4th Placer)
- Hadassah Bernardine Ramil
- Asher Joshua Santos
- Jerald Lavarias
- Maxine Beatrice Tamian
- Joauquin Vasquez

Radio Scriptwriting and Broadcasting- Filipino (4th Placer)
- Baby Zette Alcantara
- Frances Monique Baaclo
- Zairon Adam Dela Cruz
- Charles Rico
- Arabea Kate Tolentino

Individual Categories

1st Placers
Column Writing Filipino- Maria Althea Del Rosario
Editorial Writing English- Jamaica Elania Dela Cruz
Editorial Cartooning Filipino- Keinher Vhain Taguines
Photojournalism English- Kolleen Julief Leonardo
Photojournalism Filipino- John Rey Sabal
Copyreading and Headline Writing Filipino- Frances Monique Baaclo

2nd Placer
Photojournalism English- Casey Salvador Ramos

3rd Placers
Editorial Writing Filipino- Johnlyn Faye Mascarinias
Feature Writing Filipino- Jasme Rastica
Sports Writing Filipino- Baby Zette Alcantara
Science and Technology Writing English- Juelle Mariz Felipe

4th Placer
Column Writing English- Carl Joseph Ramos

5th Placers
Column Writing Filipino- Nicole Kim Catacutan
Editorial Writing English- Jona Marie Losanez
Editorial Cartooning English- Jhenri Matias