Mon, Jul 18, 2022

TSU Unity Cup 2022 caps off with awards ceremony

Tarlac State University's Unity Basketball Cup 2022 concluded with an awards ceremony held last July 15, 2022 at the University Hotel, Lucinda Campus. 
by Jodie Andrea G. Pangilinan   – 2022 News  |  Unity Cup  |  Sports  |  Wellness  |  Basketball


Tarlac State University's Unity Basketball Cup 2022 concluded with an awards ceremony held last July 15, 2022 at the University Hotel, Lucinda Campus. 

The ceremony recognized the winning basketball teams and individuals who exhibited exemplary performance throughout the tournament.   

University President Dr. Arnold E. Velasco said in a message that he was happy with the conduct and broadcasting of the games.   

“Wala akong specific team na pinapaboran, pero masaya ako na nakikitang masaya rin ang lahat… This is one of the ways where we can all be united. Makakaasa po kayo na lahat ng mga bagay na you’d propose that will make TSU be united, nandoon po ako,” he said.    

Moreover, Pres. Velasco said he is looking forward to more games other than basketball, like volleyball and badminton, so more employees will participate.   

The Non-Academic Staff Association (NASA), led by their team captain Dr. Jonathan A. Gabriel (Internal Audit Services Office Director), was hailed as champions after winning the third game of the finals match against Team Maestro Lucinda (Lucinda Faculty) with a score of 80-73 on July 7, 2022.   

In an interview after the match, Dr. Gabriel said that their team's hard work allowed them to bounce back and retain their composure during the game. He also said their team's performance was excellent since they only lost once in the entire season. 

“Dahil kapag hindi excellent ‘yung performance na ‘yon, hindi namin matatalo ‘yung malakas na team. Malakas ang team ng Faculty Lucinda, sobra. May mga coaches talaga sila… very technical. Swerte kami, nanalo kami,” he said.   

Maestro Lucinda emerged as the first runner-up of the tournament with Team FDMO (Facilities Development and Management Office) and Team CSU-CCJE (joint team of Civil Security Unit and College of Criminal Justice Education) taking second and third runner-up spots, respectively.  

In his closing remarks, Unity Cup lead organizer Dr. Winston F. Abalos (Alumni Affairs Director) profusely thanked Pres. Velasco, other TSU officials, and the players for their unwavering support.   

“Salamat. Dahil sa inyo, naging successful ito. 'Nung opening pa lang, alam ko na magiging successful tayo. Especially kay Sir Jonathan at sa guidance niyo (university officials). Siyempre, hindi ko kayang mag-isa ito,” he said.   

In a separate interview, Dr. Abalos also shared that basketball tournaments among the TSU faculty and personnel were held as early as 2005. These were usually named after the incumbent TSU President. However, Dr. Abalos and his co-organizers chose “Unity” for this year’s tournament name.   

“Unity Cup kasi medyo sakto ‘yung theme. Let’s be honest. ‘Yung environment natin naging hati dahil sa nangyaring pagbabago. This is one step para ma-unite ulit especially doon sa mga [rank-and-file] employees natin. It makes my heart really happy na makikita mo ‘yung mga janitor, mga [security] na nagsasabi ‘Sir, thank you! Buti nabuhay.’ ‘Yun lang sulit ka na eh. Ito 'yung mga sinasabi nilang priceless moments. Walang pera ang katumbas ‘nun. It’s really to unify the bridges that are being built dahil sa transition natin sa bagong administrasyon,” he said.   

Additionally, Dr. Abalos said another basketball tournament will be held in November or December 2022 to be organized by the Physical Education Department of the College of Teacher Education. 

Furthermore, a negotiation is currently in the works for a possible matchup between the TSU faculty and personnel against PBA’s (Philippine Basketball Association) Barangay Ginebra San Miguel.    

The individual awards handed over during the ceremony are as follows: 

Tournament Mythical Team 40 y/o and above 

Mr. Francisco Gelbolingo 

Mr. Glenn Magaway 

Mr. Zuriel Tabian 

Mr. Rosel Corpus 

Mr. Jason Felipe 

Dr. Jonathan Gabriel 

Tournament Mythical Team 39 y/o and below 

Mr. Dexter Dela Rosa 

Mr. Misael Cabansag 

Mr. Enrico Martin 

Mr. Sherwin De Vera  

Most Valuable Player (MVP) 

Mr. Dexter Dela Rosa 

Season’s MVP 

Mr. Sherwin De Vera 

Most Defensive Player 

Mr. Francisco Gelbolingo 

Sportsmanship Award 

Dr. Roswald Fermin 

6th-man Award 

Dr. Erwin Mina 

Team of the Tournament 

Management Information Systems Office (MISO)